Pooled OPEB Trust Board & Participants

By resolutions unanimously adopted by the Boards of Directors of VML and VACo in 2008, the two organizations called for the creation of a pooled trust fund to assist Virginia local governments in funding their Other Post Employment Benefits (OPEB) pursuant to GASB Statement 45. Subsequently, the VACo/VML Pooled OPEB Trust was created under the joint exercise of powers of two founding localities: Fairfax County and Henrico County. The Pooled OPEB Trust is open to local governments, school divisions, authorities, and other governmental entities that adopt Ordinances or Resolutions to become members.

The Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees composed of nine (9) members. Trustees are elected by participants in the Pooled Trust, whose votes are weighted according to each Participating Employer’s share of total Trust Fund assets. The Board of Trustees is responsible for managing Trust Fund assets through the appointment and oversight of investment managers and with the guidance of an investment advisor.

VACo/VML Pooled OPEB Trust

Board of Trustees – 2017-2018

Jeffrey Weiler
Fairfax County
Ronald H. Williams
Vice Chairman
City of Suffolk
Kevin S. Boggess
City of Salem
Patricia A. Phillips
City of Virginia Beach
Anthony Romanello
Henrico County
Laura M. Rudy
Stafford County
Marty Smith
Fairfax County Public Schools
Scott W. Zaremba
Chesterfield County
H. Roger Zurn, Jr.
Loudoun County

VACo/VML Pooled OPEB Trust Fund Participants

  • Accomack County
  • Alexandria City Public Schools
  • Alexandria Renew Enterprises
  • Chesapeake Public Schools
  • Chesterfield County
  • Chesterfield County Public Schools
  • Chesterfield County Line of Duty
  • City of Fredericksburg
  • City of Lexington & Public Schools
  • City of Poquoson
  • City of Roanoke
  • City of Roanoke Line of Duty
  • City of Salem
  • City of Staunton & Public Schools
  • City of Suffolk
  • City of Virginia Beach
  • Fairfax County
  • Fairfax County Public Schools
  • Fauquier County & Public Schools
  • Fluvanna County
  • Health Care Commission of Chesterfield County
  • Henrico County
  • Henry County
  • Henry County Public Service Authority
  • Henry County Public Schools
  • Henry County/Martinsville Social Services
  • Loudoun County & Public Schools
  • Loudoun Water
  • Mecklenburg County
  • Newport News Redevelopment & Housing Authority
  • Newport News Public Schools
  • Rappahannock Area Community Services Board
  • Richmond Metropolitan Transportation Authority
  • Roanoke County
  • Roanoke County Public Schools
  • Salem City Schools
  • Southeastern Cooperative Educational Programs
  • Spotsylvania County Public Schools
  • Stafford County
  • Stafford County Public Schools
  • Suffolk Public Schools
  • Town of Ashland
  • Town of Blacksburg
  • Virginia Beach City Public Schools
  • York County
  • York County School Division

OPEB Board Members Only